NC State Wolfpack Sailors Earn All-Conference Honors


NC State Sailors recognized as All-SAISA Superlatives for performance during 2022-2023 season. Skippers Isa du Plessis (Jr., Ft. Lauderdale, FL), and Adam Larson (Jr., Charlotte, NC) were chosen as first-team All-SAISA Skippers. du Plessis was also recognized as first-team All-SAISA Women's Skipper. Skipper Olivia Sowa (Jr., Hollywood, MD) was recognized as a second-team All-SAISA Women's Skipper. Sowa and crew Annika Milstien (So., Tampa, FL) were also named first-team All-SAISA Crews. 

SAISA Conference Superlatives recognize consistent, outstanding performances by student-athletes all across our conference. Once again, a volunteer committee studiously reviewed regatta results and individual sailor performances over the two seasons in review (Fall 22/Spring 23) and worked closely to identify and recognize outstanding performance and competitive contributions made by SAISA student-athletes. The All-SAISA Committee selects superlatives in the following categories: Open Skipper, Women’s Skipper, and Open and Women’s Crew. The committee also reviewed nominations for SAISA Outstanding Sportsmanship Award, Student-Leader of the Year, and Coach of the Year which will be announced in the near future.

All-SAISA award nominees were selected based on results throughout the college sailing year, with consideration of quality and quantity of events sailed. Special emphasis was also placed on competition and results in high-level SAISA events, i.e. SAISA-hosted interconference events, SAISA Conference Championships, and high-level interconference regattas. Additionally, crews were selected with consideration in competing in both Women’s and Open categories. Crews who dramatically improved the results of the people they sailed with were also considered. Seniority and leadership were used as tie-breaking factors.

All-SAISA Open Skippers: First Team

  • Emily Allen, Jacksonville University
  • Aidan Dennis, University of Miami
  • Isabella du Plessis, North Carolina State University
  • Brandon Geller, College of Charleston
  • Atlee Kohl, University of Miami
  • Adam Larson, North Carolina State University
  • Eden Nykamp, Eckerd College
  • Mateo Rodriguez, Florida State University

All-SAISA Open Skippers: Second Team

  • Steven Hardee, University of Miami
  • Richard McCann, University of Miami
  • Axel Stordahl, College of Charleston
  • Noah Zittrer, College of Charleston

All-SAISA Women’s Skippers: First Team

  • Emily Alfortish, College of Charleston
  • Emily Allen, Jacksonville University
  • Isabella du Plessis, North Carolina State University
  • Sydney Monahan, University of South Florida
  • Eden Nykamp, Eckerd College
  • Emma Shakespeare, University of South Florida
  • Grace Squires, College of Charleston
  • Emma Tallman, College of Charleston

All-SAISA Women’s Skippers: Second Team

  • Kay Brunsvold, University of South Florida
  • Kaitlyn Liebel, Jacksonville University
  • Katie Nelson, Florida State University
  • Olivia Sowa, North Carolina State University

All-SAISA Crew (both Open and Women’s)

  • Teddy Bueres, University of Miami
  • Rori Bywater, Jacksonville University
  • Reagan Carris, Jacksonville University
  • Natalie Elder, University of Miami
  • Olivia Hanley, Florida State University
  • Avery Harris, Florida State University
  • Sandra Heilshorn, University of Miami
  • Chloe Hudgins, College of Charleston
  • Jewel "Min Min" Kelly, University of South Florida
  • Lucy Klempen, College of Charleston
  • Elissa Martinez, Eckerd College
  • Annika Milstien, North Carolina State University
  • Noelle Owen, College of Charleston
  • Olivia Smith, University of South Florida
  • Roxanne Snyder, College of Charleston
  • Olivia Sowa, North Carolina State University


The ALL-SAISA Awards Committee includes:

Esteban Forrer, Jacksonville University
Nick Johnstone, The Citadel
Allison Jolly, University of South Florida
Ainsley Parramore, Eckerd College


Do you like this post?

SailPack Foundation, Inc. is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization registered in the State of North Carolina.
Contributions are tax-deductible, however we advise that you contact your tax professional for guidance, direction, or further details. 


Sign in with Facebook, Twitter or email.